2-Motus-contes-ambulants-7.jpg

TRAVELLING TALES

This show is also available as a webcast.

 

And so a trio of traveling artists arrives in the public square, their caravan filled with an array of intriguing objects. Singing and playing music, they invite people to come closer – but not too close! ­– to listen to three tales, from three different cultures! Each performer breaks out his things and gets ready to weave his story! Follow them on their dreamy, trippy walkabout – all while safely socially distanced! 

Otjiera and the fasting ceremony

Take your seat around a magical fire and become a spirit of the ancestors! In this Mohawk tale, you will accompany the chief’s son, Otjiera, on his dream quest to discover his destiny. But watch out for Big Bear’s daughter! 

 

The Bewitched Canoe (la chasse-galerie)

A traditional Québécois tale! Soar through the sky on a flying canoe with a team of lumberjacks who have sold their souls just to attend a party in town with their girlfriends!

Baobab 

A world filled with sunshine awaits as you’re transported to the Mandingo region in West Africa where a magnificent Baobab tree is about to touch the heart of the Earth with its roots! Accompany a mystical young boy on his mission to return water to the land amidst a relentless drought. 

Travelling tales logo.png

Text and direction Hélène Ducharme 

Staging assistance  Danaëlle Ducharme-Massé 

Music and sound environment Stéphan Côté as well as Nathalie Cora and Aboulaye Koné 

Puppets and masks  Jean Cummings, Sylvain Racine and Claude Rodrigue 

Scenography  Normand Blais 

Costumes  Diane Lavoie 

Collaborators in the creation of Bubbles  Sylvain Massé and Michel St-Amand 

Stage manager  Louka Ducharme-Massé 

Artists at creation  Marco Collin, Sharon James, Stéphan Côté or Jon Lachland-Stuart (in english)

Workshops available - Baobab / Otjiera and the fasting ceremony

6-contes-ambulants.jpg

Following the presentation of the two tales, an actor will give a workshop lasting about 30 minutes. Children will discover the world of tales from West Africa and indigenous iroquois tales by approaching the different mythical characters.

  • Facebook
  • Blanc Vimeo Icône

2-Motus-contes-ambulants-7.jpg

LES CONTES AMBULANTS

Voilà un trio d’artistes ambulants qui arrivent sur la place publique avec leur roulotte remplie d’objets hétéroclites. En chantant et jouant de la musique, ils invitent les gens à s’approcher, mais pas trop! Pour écouter leurs trois contes, provenant de trois cultures différentes ! Chacun sort son matériel et se prépare à raconter son histoire! Suivez-les dans un déambulatoire qui vous fera rêver et voyager tout en restant bien distanciés! 

Otijera et le jeûne du rêve 

Un conte iroquois, où vous serez invité autour d’un feu magique à devenir un esprit des ancêtres. Hantés par les esprits du loup, du carcajou et du hibou, vous accompagnerez le fils du chef, Otijera, dans son jeûne du rêve. Mais prenez gare à la fille de la grande ourse!

 

La Chasse-galerie 

Un conte traditionnel québécois, où vous vous envolerez dans le ciel sur un canot volant, rencontrerez le diable en personne et serez prêt à lui vendre votre âme pour revoir votre famille ne serait-ce qu’un instant! 

Baobab 

Un conte d’Afrique de l’ouest, où vous serez transporté dans cette région mandingue où un magnifique Baobab s’apprête à toucher de ses racines, le cœur de la Terre! Dans cet univers rempli de soleil, la grande griotte accompagne le petit Amondo dans ses quatre épreuves bien spéciales qui le mèneront jusqu’au centre de la terre!

Capture d’écran, le 2021-06-30 à 21.56.37.png

Texte et mise en scène Hélène Ducharme 

Assistance à la mise en scène Danaëlle Ducharme-Massé 

Musique et environnement sonore Stéphan Côté ainsi que Nathalie Cora et Aboulaye Koné 

Marionnettes et masques Jean Cummings, Sylvain Racine et Claude Rodrigue 

Scénographie Normand Blais 

Costumes Diane Lavoie 

Collaborateurs à la création de BULLES  Sylvain Massé et Michel St-Amand 

Régie Louka Ducharme-Massé 

Artistes à la création Marco Collin, Stéphan Côté et Sharon James

Ateliers disponibles - Baobab / Otijera et le jeûne du rêve

6-contes-ambulants.jpg

Suite à la présentation des deux contes, un comédien donnera un atelier d’une durée d’environ 30 minutes. Les enfants découvriront l’univers des contes d’Afrique de l’Ouest et des contes autochtones du Canada en abordant les différents personnages mythiques.